The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

WPC: Shadowed

P1060439

When I was a poor university student I bought myself a bicycle to get around the city. In the rain, in the snow, in the heat of the summer I rode that bike everywhere. It gave me the freedom to explore Toronto’s nooks and crannies and feel it’s true vitality.

P1060329After I got married and moved it became part of the pile of ‘not so important stuff’ and languished in the garage until it decayed into rusty metal.

I ended up getting another bicycle and I use it to explore my surroundings once again. I have a fondness for the unusual and often ride to places people seldom go.

I’ve always been amazed at how Canadian photographer Freeman Patterson can capture the most alluring photograph from subjects we often see as mundane. His photos of a derelict building slowly being overtaken by sand in his aptly titled book ‘ShadowLight‘ always serve as inspiration when I take photos of the world around me.

To see how others interpret the word ‘shadowed’ visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “WPC: Shadowed

  1. I STILL remember my first real bike, and I still love biking. Loved your interpretation of the challenge

  2. That first bike is always so powerful and liberating… then its old news sort of in the shadows… overshadowed by other ways to get to and fro… Good photo, have a great week.

  3. Great photo accompanies the wonderful story. I love riding bike for fun 🙂

  4. I agree Freeman Patterson is an inspiration

Comment section now closed.

