The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

I’m Canadian, Eh? 017

Random photos and thoughts about Canada.

Our environment, our experiences, and the people we choose to surround us shapes us into who we are. In this series I search the web for thought-provoking images about Canada, the country I grew up in.

09-feb-21

“Hurry!” – A command which instructs players to sweep harder.

Job-hunting? How about applying for a gig as a maple syrup processing plant worker, curling rink ice technician, or polar bear tour guide? Read on for these and other uber-Canadian jobs on offer: ~ MaClean’s Magazine

"Ode to Girlina"

Last Call!

Have you been punched in the face after having a few too many drinks at the bar? Thanks alcohol! That message and others are part of Alberta’s new, cheeky anti-drinking campaign, which attempts to use humour to point out that bad booze management can lead you to some pretty rough places. The Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission launched the new awareness campaign on Friday, reminding us about something many of us know from experience: Alcohol can help turn you into a pretty crummy person. ~ Alberta launches cheeky ‘Thanks Alcohol!’ anti-drinking campaign, Yahoo! News Canada, October 31, 2014

Cougar Boots

Canadian Cougar

As far as a trend goes, these were the Canadian winter boot of the 1980’s for women (although they came in mens sizes). Worn with leg warmers, or with your jeans tucked into your socks these became instant icons. Only in fashion for a few winters, the memories live on. ~ The Canadian Design Resource

¨

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I’m Canadian, Eh? 017

  1. Ha, my husband loves curling; I don’t get it. Must be his Scandanavian roots. Perhaps I’ll get him some of those boots. 😉

    • Can’t say that I know much about curling either although I cheered loudly for our Canadian team during the Winter Olympics. I and probably all of my friends had Cougar boots when we grew up. They were the ‘in’ thing to have. We also wore ‘moon’ boots and ‘chewbacka’ boots.

  2. I’ve never tried curling although I’m fascinated when I see it in the Olympics. That “last call” photo…it hurts just looking at it. I can’t imagine what she felt like when she woke up. –Patti

  3. Neat photo of curling. Reminds me of when we lived in Minnesota and there were lots of places to do so.

Comment section now closed.

