The Great Escape

living a simple life in Palawan Philippines

WPC: Angular

P1050538

There’s a bitter, cold wind blowing in Toronto. Thankfully the sun is out to temper the chill and uplift our mood if only slightly. We’re in my old stomping grounds not far from where I went to art school ages ago. We duck down a side street away from the buzz of trendy Queen Street West and enter ‘Graffiti Alley’ infamous for its expansive display of street art. It’s become a local tourist attraction and my friend and I have come to ย check out the latest pieces.

There’s a riot of colour and contrasting styles but I’m not here just to view. In my own way, I add my tag, a sticker with a set of five ‘borrowed’ positive rules for life. All along the alley I place my stickers in obscure places between pieces from notable Toronto graffiti artists. I still have a little bit of ‘rebel’ in me.

Graffiti may be polarizing as an art form and not everyone’s taste but I can appreciate the energetic, angular style of this often maligned street art.

To see how others interpret the word ‘angular’ visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “WPC: Angular

  1. A great picture and a very creative interpretation of the theme ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I like graffiti art and think it’s cool that you found the perfect fit for this theme!

  3. A very different interpretation, lovely photo. I like it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Imaginative interpretation – my guess is that there will be a lot of buildings and buildings this week!

  5. Great entry for the challenge — different. Good job. ๐Ÿ™‚

Please Comment

