The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

The Land Where I Was Born 014

Random photos and thoughts about the Philippines

Our environment, our experiences, and the people we choose to surround us shapes us into who we are. In this series I search the web for thought-provoking images about the Philippines, the country I was born in and which I am now just discovering.

Shooting Baguio: Lit-tuko

Sour Balls of Rattan Fruit

Ang asim, maryosep! And it wasn’t even anything like the citric sourness of lemon, lime or kalamansi. It was just plain sour. The kind that cuts through the tongue and lips. I washed out my mouth with water several times to get rid of the sensation. ~ Casa Veneracion – Food. Life. Leisure

McDonald's Delivers

$1.32 per hour

Angelica* makes $57.37 Philippine pesos per hour, or roughly $1.32, working on the service crew at a McDonald’s in Quezon City. While she said it’s better to work full time at McDonald’s than to be unemployed, the decision was one of financial necessity: Angelica needed to support her younger siblings and dropped out of college to do so. ~ Huffington Post, May 15, 2014

Shoe Repair Man (Manila)

Electric Shoes

The phrase “power walk” may soon get a new meaning, after 15-year-old Filipino high school student Angelo Casimiro invented an in-sole power generator that can fit into an ordinary sneaker. An earlier post by ScienceAlert on the young boy’s device has already gone viral on Facebook, with over 5,000 shares in just nine hours. Casimiro said his in-sole generator, which can charge personal devices like smartphones, can benefit Filipinos in remote areas where there is no electricity. ~ GMA News, June 5, 2014

 

¨

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Land Where I Was Born 014

  1. There so much to miss and be proud about the Philippines. Beautiful beaches, friendly, creative hard-working people that appreciate their blessings, big or small, exotic fruits, that feeling of simply being home. I wish I discovered more of it before I left 11 years ago. I thought I did until I realized there was so much I didn’t do or see. May be one day.

Comment section now closed.

