The Great Escape

living a simple life in Palawan Philippines

Weekly Photo Challenge: RELIC

P1030273

Does anyone write postcards anymore?

When I travelled through South-East Asia in the early 90’s there was no email let alone internet. You were lucky to even get a phone call out. Communication to anyone back home meant writing a letter or sending a postcard. This was a time that you could detach yourself from your everyday life and truly escape.

When “the Chef” and I were in El Nido almost three years ago I still felt the urge to write ย postcards even though there is ready access to the internet. I wasn’t surprised to find the post office was literally just a hole in the wall, a RELIC, with one lone clerk. I think she was happy to see us.

To see how others interpret the word ‘relic’ visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: RELIC

  1. I still do!!!Writing letters too!!!

  2. If love receiving them as much as I do. let me know I can add you on my list ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Whenever I visit a new place I collect post cards for myself and I send it to others too ๐Ÿ™‚ Love getting postcards, I feel emails can never replace that.

  4. I love postcards! I remember when my dad traveled and would send one to each of us – my two brothers and I. Getting a postcard was cool. Four years ago when I visited Paris, I sent every one of my English Language Arts students from the previous year a postcard from Paris – about 30 kids – plus every one in my family. I had one kid tell me thanks – but it was worth it.

  5. So true. Like you I did a lot of travel in the eighties and nineties and not only were phone calls hard to make, if at all possible, they were also expensive! I lived for one year in the mid eighties and phoned ‘home’ once on Xmas day.
    You have just reminded me of some photos I took of old post boxes – I think I’ll post those ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Because I was travelling for months I told my friends to write me wherever I was. I remember going to the post office in Bali, rifling through the received mail and feeling so elated to see a letter addressed to me. I was so happy to have this connection from home I just kept reading the letter over and over again.

      When you travelled back then not only was communication hard but pictures you took were on film and had to be processed back home. I think I took 24 rolls of film and the only way for me to remember what I took was to label each roll and write down in my journal the roll number, the picture number and the description of what I was shooting. Now we have Facebook!

  6. Great take on! I really don’t miss it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Great entry for the theme. I still send postcards and write letters by hand which I send snail mail.

  8. I collect them for myself but not write ๐Ÿ˜›

Please Comment

