The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

Weekly Photo Challenge: BETWEEN

Weekly Photo Challenge: Between

When I visited the Philippines in 2012 I stayed in Calamba, the hometown of the National Hero of the Philippines Jose Rizal. It also happens to be the hometown of my Dad. The most shocking thing to me was how much the town had grown.

I’m all for progress but not when it doesn’t make sense. Like weeds growing unchecked, infrastructure has sprouted in the most arbitrary way. This ‘Alcasid’ sign has stood majestically atop my great grandfather’s building for many, many years. I remember it from my childhood visits. Today, it’s only visible BETWEEN the opening of an elevated pedestrian bridge that literally obliterates the front view of the buildings (and that’s only if you’re looking for it).

To see how others interpret the word ‘between’ visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: BETWEEN

  1. sometime it doesn’t come out the way we think. But be that as it may, life goes on. Many thanks for passing by.

  2. I missed reading your posts. Welcome back! 😀

  3. After 10 years of absence, I almost did not recognize Metro Manila when I visited 2 years ago. So many buildings have sprouted and there’s hardly any more green space in the metropolis.

Comment section now closed.

