The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

I’m Back

A cold wind blows right through my light grey hoodie. I look upward at a matching grey sky. It was a long, cold, crappy winter. I know this is Canada but it’s June. This is supposed to be summer! My thoughts turn to our big trip in August. It’s been a long time but I’m back blogging again. I guess I suffered from what most blogger’s hit – that damn writer’s block – when you can’t for the life of you think of any more interesting things to write about. Thoughts turn grey and fingers go limp.

Cold and Grey

Cold and Grey

Life has kick-started again.

After a long stretch of being in limbo The Chef and I are finally moving forward in our quest for happiness. We are travelling to the Philippines to see if we really want to make the big leap across the world. When we told our family and our friends they seemed mostly happy for us. One of my best friends who upped and left 15 years ago to the opposite side of the country wasn’t so keen. She didn’t like that I would be so far away. She said it was just ‘vacation lust’ and that our happiness was just the euphoria of being on holidays. Maybe she’s right. After a lot of reading and research it’s now time to find out.

Vacation Lust

Vacation Lust

We’ve been warned about culture shock. We picked August because it’s supposed to be rainy season and not the best time to travel there. We’re renting a house and staying for a month. We’ll be shopping daily to buy our food in the markets. There are no malls, no grocery stores or supermarkets. Just small little shops called sari sari stores equivalent to the corner store selling a little bit of this, a little bit of that. Our biggest concern? Finding ground coffee and fresh milk. Our goal is to live like locals, to experience what it’s like to live life on an island.

Sari Sari Store

Sari Sari Store

We also know we need to be able to support ourselves so we’ll be investigating any and all business opportunities. Eco-Tourism is one of the biggest industries in Palawan. Running a small resort and restaurant is on top of our list to do. It won’t all be business though. We’ll be exploring the island by foot, motorbike and bangka. A couple of our Canadian friends will be visiting us while we’re there and we can’t wait to show them ‘our’ island. I know there will be more than a few nights of chugging back rum and cokes.

Palawan

Coron, Palawan

Look out Palawan. Ready or not here we come!

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “I’m Back

  1. It sounds very exciting and adventurous! I think it’s a really good idea to have a trial visit – if more people did that, they would be more prepared for their new life.

    • I have a friend who can just literally pack up and go. She usually realizes it’s not what she thinks it is and ends up returning home. I’m the complete opposite – a compulsive planner – I need to know everything I can about a place. Hopefully, it serves us well. 🙂

      • I think detailed planning is the best way. We’ve done a couple of things that would have worked out better with more detailed planning and less ‘pack up and go’ – nothing as drastic as moving to another country though! 🙂

  2. This sounds so exciting!! Best of luck to you guys! 🙂

  3. Wow what an adventure… and very smart to try it first and be sure it is not the vacation lust. And who says you need to stay forever? If it doesn’t work out you can always go home.

    • So true. We know it will be a big challenge but we’re really gambling that everything works out. The unknown is exciting and scary too.

      • I know what that is like… I boarded a plane for China 4 years ago and wasn’t 100% sure what I was getting into. A little different from you, but just as scary since I had never been here and couldn’t speak the language. I was very excited about it all until I was boarding the plane and the lady scanned my passport. The person behind me was Chinese and I heard her speaking Mandrin… I felt like there was no turning back now. My eyes filled with tears. The sadness was short lived and we made a life for ourselves here. I always knew I could always go home if I needed to. Lots of opprotunitues became available and I was so glad we took that leap of faith. Best wishes to you 🙂

Comment section now closed.

