The Great Escape

living a simple life in Palawan Philippines

Weekly Photo Challenge: PURPLE

PURPLE is not a colour that comes easily into my life.

When I first read the theme I thought to myself, “Wow, what am I going to shoot? I know I have nothing in my photo archives. Maybe I’ll have to skip this challenge.” But the pull of doing the challenge was too great. I looked in my closet. I looked at all my belongings. I scrutinized everything around me as I walked the dog. Then I noticed the little orchid sitting in the front window.

Now I had another challenge, how to make it look somewhat interesting. I don’t usually use the fancy settings that came with my camera but this time I thought it would benefit the shot. I placed the camera on ‘Silhouette’ and framed the shot in different ways until I was happy. My world just got a little more colourful.

To see how others interpret the word ‘purple’ visit the Weekly Photo Challenge.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: PURPLE

  1. I love the subtle purple color of the flower. Didn’t I leave a comment before? 🙂

  2. Lovely detail in that photo. 🙂

  3. Great photo. Lovely orchid

  4. beautiful and excellent details 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly photo challenege: “Purple” (The colour purple – A story ) « Just another wake-up call

  6. great job – lovely image!

  7. An absolutely stunning photo. Great job.

  8. The purple came out really nice.

  9. Beautiful purple!

  10. Great job…sounds like it took some work, which shows…

  11. This is a beautiful photo!

  12. Reena on said:

    I love the composition, very beautiful.
    Thanks also for appreciating my entry “beginner’s entry”. I just started blogging 2 weeks ago and I’m having fun here.

  13. that was just awesome!!!

  14. Nice composition! It makes it really about the purple and not so much about the orchids except for the fine tracing of the veins in the petals. I also like the green touches against the deep red background.

  15. Excellent! I love Orchids and you managed to give them great texture and light. Love this!

  16. Madelaine on said:

    Love the composition!

  17. topher79 on said:

    I had the same problem as well, I have too many things in my apartment but hardly of them are purple. The orchid was a good call, nice photo

Please Comment

