The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

I Am Filipino – Again!

Philippine Oath Taking – “I Am Filipino”

Yesterday, we got one step closer to our dream of escape. I officially became a citizen of the Philippines. Now not only can I stay indefinitely in my country of birth but I can also vote, buy land, engage in business and even run for public office! This also clears the way for my husband, “the Chef” to get a non-quota immigrant visa. It’s going to be awhile before we make the final leap half way around the world but this makes it feel real.

Honda for Bangka

We are so ready to trade in our Honda for a bangka,

House for Hut

our house for a nipa hut,

Snow for Sand

and the cold and snow for sun and sand. The dream for a simple life lives on!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “I Am Filipino – Again!

  1. As a Filipina, I know that your new life in the Philippines will be great. I and my American husband visited the country last year, and he too fell in love with the hospitality of our people and our beautiful beaches. As long as you are away from areas where they say are volative to violence, I am sure you’ll be safe. I wish you and the Chef all the best. Be blessed!

  2. Security for … more fun? … adventure? … uncertainty? I wish you and your husband luck. May all your dreams come true.

  3. Good luck! You will surely love your new life! Z

Comment section now closed.

