The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

Weekly Photo Challenge: BLUE

It’s been a long time. I’m sure my parents took us on this ride when we were young but I have no recollection of it. Now many years later I’m back and this time I’m with “the Chef.” It’s our second year anniversary and we’ve made the trek to the “Honeymoon Capital of the World,” Niagara Falls. Normally, we wouldn’t entertain the thought of doing such a touristy thing but this is Niagara and it’s the closest thing we have to the schlock of Las Vegas. Time to put away the inhibitions and just play. Besides, if it’s good enough for Brad and Angelina (they went in 2009) it’s good enough for us.

We wait patiently in line. Finally, we’re on the boat with hundreds of other BLUE raincoat clad tourists. First, the “Maid of the Mist” chugs slowly towards the American Falls then to the Canadian Horseshoe Falls. My ears fill with the roar of thundering water. Fine mist and spray covers my face and my glasses. I forget I’m a tourist and just soak in the amazing power of nature.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: BLUE

  1. Great one for the challenge. I’ve been to those falls, but didn’t do the ride. I think it must be a recent addition.

  2. What a great idea for BLUE! It looks like a cheesy ride, but until you do… then you are in awe! It is sad to think that this may be the last summer for Maid of the Mist (it’s been around SO long) because they are opening the opprotunity up to other companies 😦
    I worked in the falls for a few years in tours and people LOVED it and come from all over the world to see the falls and feel the mist… truely a natural wonder.

  3. Omigosh, my parents took me there too. Now I need to dig through albums and shoe boxes and find photos! Thanks for the post.

  4. What a phenomenal shot. I love it. I am so glad you came by my blog and sent me a LIKE. I was able to find you and I look forward to following your posts. 😀

  5. Wonderful, I had to look twice because first time around it looked like a whole pile of garbage bags and I thought, how awful, someone dumped garbage by the falls! Great shot! xxx Ailsa

  6. When I was 12 my parents took us to Niagara Falls and we walked beneath the falls. I remember wooden decking, elevators, locker rooms, terry cloth footies, yellow slickers and getting really wet. I want to go again, maybe with the grand-kids.

    • Yes, my parents took us there too! All I remember is the constant roar of the falls and like you getting really wet. Our family would always go to Niagara Falls when we had friends and relatives visiting from other countries. We always stopped by the Floral Clock first for a photo.

  7. What a beautiful sight!

  8. Brings back memories of my trip there. Good one for blue challenge. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  9. Thought that springs to mind: aliens worshipping water 🙂
    Love this shot.

Comment section now closed.

