The Great Escape

Rediscovering life in Palawan Philippines

RECIPE: Calamansi Squares V2.0

In the new incarnation of myself I am a baker, pastry chef and chocolatier. In my mind I’m already living my life in Palawan with “the Chef” on our small resort. I gather some salad greens and herbs from our garden and bring them to the kitchen for “the Chef.” Filipinos are good cooks so “the Chef” finds it easy to give instruction. There is lots of chattering and laughing going on. This is one happy kitchen.

Okay, back to reality. It’s March in Canada and the week starts at minus -13°C. At least it’s sunny so when I take the “Doggie” out for his walk I get my dose of vitamin D. There’s nothing to harvest from the frozen garden. I’m the only one in the kitchen now and it seems a little lonely. I’m trying to perfect my recipe for Lemon Squares but instead of lemons I’m using calamansi, a citrus fruit native to the Philippines. I am ecstatic to find frozen calamansi at a local Asian grocery. Time to make more sunshine.

CALAMANSI SQUARES V2.0

The recipe is still a work in progress but this batch went over well at our last “Family Day.”

CRUST

1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

TOPPING

1/2 cup calamansi juice (approximately 2 – 8 oz bags of frozen calamansi)
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
4 teaspoons corn starch
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons melted unsalted butter
1 teaspoon fresh calamansi zest

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F (180°C)

  • Line the inside of an 8-inch square pan with foil, dull side up. Smooth it out as much as you can.
  • In a medium bowl, mix the flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 8 tablespoons melted butter, and vanilla, stirring just until smooth.
  • Smooth the batter onto the bottom of the pan, using your hands or spatula so that it’s as even as you can get.

Bake the crust for 25 minutes, or until it’s golden brown.

  • While the crust is baking, whisk the eggs, salt and calamansi zest in a medium bowl. Add the corn starch very carefully to the egg mixture to prevent lumps. Using a sieve will help.
  • In a small bowl stir the calamansi juice and sugar together to dissolve the sugar as much as possible. Add 3 tablespoons of melted butter and mix until combined.
  • Add the juice mixture to the egg mixture and stir gently with a rubber spatula until fully combined.

When the crust comes out turn down the oven to 300°F. Pour the filling over the hot crust and bake for 35 to 40 minutes until the filling is set and the edges are light golden brown.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool completely. Once cool, lift it out by grasping the foil. Carefully remove the foil and cut into squares. Sift powdered sugar over the top just before serving.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “RECIPE: Calamansi Squares V2.0

  1. arlene on said:

    i tried this however it turned out sour.

  2. jenkakio on said:

    OMG, I love Calamansi!!!! I’ve been pressuring my family to plant a calamansi tree in our backyard. I love making calamansi-ade on a hot summer day. Yummy!

    Okay, when I find some calamansi, I am going to make these squares. I love lemon squares, so I’m guessing that I will love this recipe too. Thanks for sharing.

Comment section now closed.

