The Great Escape

dreaming of a simple life in Palawan

Weekly Photo Challenge: JOURNEY

A JOURNEY starts with just one step. 

Pausing to take off another layer of clothing I’m already anticipating my next step on this trail of loose rock and boulder. My breathing becomes deliberate and I am sweating profusely. My hands go on my hips, my head is down and I concentrate on moving forward. “The Chef” is way ahead of me. Well, no wonder, he is endowed with lanky long legs perfect for climbing. Gros Morne Mountain in Newfoundland Canada is an exhausting hike up a steep boulder gully to a summit at an elevation of 806 meters. From up here the trail is another 7 hours of hiking. It’s all worth it as we traverse across flat mountain tops and marvel at this tundra environment.

Single Post Navigation

23 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: JOURNEY

  1. Thank you for stopping by. Hope you visit again.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. Wow – my feet hurt looking at it :-)

  3. talk about rocky roads… ;) great post!

  4. Wow! Simply put…Wow!

  5. Wow, I didn’t know it was going to be such a tough climb, we are hoping to travel to Newfoundland this coming summer, this park is on my “to do” list.

    • You definitely have to do the park. It’s huge. There are so many trails and things to do. Highlights: Western Brook Pond Boat Tour, the Tableslands Trail (easy) and ofcourse Gros Morne Mountain. If you have time drive up the Viking Trail. We didn’t get the chance but we’d definitely like to do that if we go back. Be prepared to do a lot of driving. We had a blast in Newfoundland.

  6. Pingback: Journey to find the Ultimate Outhouse | Living Life in Glorious Colour

  7. Ah, brings back good memories! But oh! Tough on the feet climbing up on rocks.

  8. Northern Narratives on said:

    That is quite the journey and a great photo.

  9. That is a rocky road to travel.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey | No Fixed Plans

  11. An awesome scene. I don’t think I’d be able to do it. I admire your stamina to finish the journey. Great entry.

  12. This is a fantastic photo but I wouldn’t like to hike up there!

  13. How did you not fall and/or twist your ankle in all that rubble?! Amazing picture.

  14. Look like an endless journey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers

